With a little elbow grease!

So I really like Kris Carr and I was SUPER thrilled to see that her new cookbook, Crazy Sexy Kitchen, was available at my local library!

Crazy Sexy Kitchen: 150 Plant-Empowered Recipes to Ignite a Mouthwatering Revolution[Photo credit here]

Kris has always been an inspiration to me, ever since I saw her movie, Crazy Sexy Cancer. She decided to document her journey through food and wellness via film, and it is incredibly powerful. Why shouldn’t we all take charge of our health, even without a cancer diagnosis?

I was recently inspired by one of Kris’s blog posts on her website, about prevention and the awareness surrounding October (for Breast Cancer Awareness). It never quite hit me that many things that are advertised as being “pink” and all wonderful for breast cancer in fact may not be the best thing for our bodies (I mean, I love Magnolia cupcakes….but I probably don’t need the pink frosting any more than I need the pink cake!)

So I took some cute advice. What’s pink and okay for you? PINK GRAPEFRUIT.

One of the things I noticed when I was lucky enough to use my former roommate’s souped-up-and-expensive-Hurom juicer was that….well….grapefruit juice is delicious! So sweet, and not quite as sour as its whole-fruit counterpart. Without the expensive juicer, I used some delicious grapefruit and a little bit of elbow grease. This was the result…

  (a little sifting action!)

No fancy juicer, just a pink drink (that isn’t pepto…yuck!)….and might I add, a perfect way to top off my first day at my new job!

Be well everyone!

(with a little note from Kris Carr, after I met her at a NY book signing!)

Leave a Reply

