Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

whynotmecover

Have you ever read a book so moving, so sad, so touching that it made you cry in public? I definitely have…many times (see this, this, and this).

A book that’s made me laugh out loud? A smaller list, but one that continues to grow. I read Mindy Kaling’s first book, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (And Other Concerns) during one day of commuting back and forth from the suburbs to the city for part-time retail work after graduate school, while I was still living with my parents. Let’s just say that laughter wasn’t coming to easy to me at that time.

This latest book was just as wonderful, but with a slightly more current spin. Mindy summarizes life since starting her own show, following from its inception to cancellation. The only thing I would’ve wished for more of is Mindy’s fictional writing. There is a vignette where she drafts a set of emails set in 2005, in what would’ve happened if she had become a Latin instructor at a Gossip-Girl-esque high school in New York. This was quite possibly one of the funniest things I’ve read in years, and it makes me hope that Mindy will start a new generation of humor fiction for women (oh please!).

Mindy has a way of capturing the current pop culture climate in a way that doesn’t shove it down your throat. Her insight both into women’s issues and her own weaknesses is not only refreshing, but also inspiring:

“When you are entitled, you are the most insufferable person ever. If you are entitled and hardworking, which I am, you are still pretty insufferable but at least you somewhat earned your entitled behavior.”

Sounds pretty spot-on to me.

Rating: 4/5 stars

I was provided a free copy of this book from http://www.BloggingforBooks.com. All opinions are my own.

Bailey and Mindy Kaling
Bailey, my cat/spirit animal
Leave a Reply

